We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Area Forum Structure Suggestion

san francisco
Level Contributor
543 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Bay Area Forum Structure Suggestion

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to this scene, but I think it would be helpful to have an "East Bay" forum category that includes, Berkeley, Oakland, Emeryville, Alameda, Albany, El Cerrito, Richmond,etc., along the lines of how the Marin County forum includes the separate communities within it.

To take it a step further, how about a "Bay Area" forum including SF, East Bay, Marin and Napa/Sonoma? This seems more efficient for interested parties, considering the interconnectedness of these communities and the desire of many travellers to move between them.

Just a thought, TW.

Berkeley, California
Destination Expert
for Berkeley
Level Contributor
6,006 posts
82 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bay Area Forum Structure Suggestion

I would like to lend my support to tdubb's suggestion. Although I am a DE for Berkeley, I'm really a DE for the entire East Bay region. Unfortunately, though, it is extremely difficult for me to check each independent forum--Alameda, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, etc.--and almost never check any of them except Oakland and Berkeley. There's a good chance, for example, that something posted to the Richmond forum would go completely unnoticed by me.

I still question the need for each town to have its own forum, but if my memory serves me correctly this is a decision TA has made and is sticking with. At least an East Bay umbrella forum would help us all keep tabs on threads that occasionally appear in smaller places. Similarly, a Bay Area forum would accomplish the same trick on a broader scale (such as for the Peninsula and South Bay regions). Currently only Marin County has an umbrella forum.