We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review published then removed? How genuine is TA?

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 posts
76 reviews
Save Topic
Review published then removed? How genuine is TA?

I have been using TA ever since I remember and reviewing since 2009 (Im a Top Contributor) and this is the first time I doubt its authenticity and level of trustability.

I wrote a totally honest review (swear in the name of God) for a so-called Hotel in Anuradhapura in early August and I am very sure that it has been published. Now in late September, I noticed that the review has been removed. I know that TA have the right to remove any post for any reason but somehow I strongly suspected that it has to do with the owner of the property because it is not a positive review that they would expect.

I am just telling my feeling and experiences so that other travellers could take note of. Isn't that the main objective of the TA? I tried to stay objective and real to my own thoughs at the same time following the TA guidelines. How could TA allow property owner to interfere with our sincere review here? How could an honest review been removed without the knowledge of the reviewer?

I urge Trip Advisor to give all our sincere reviewers and real users here an explaination of why a genuine, true nothing but the truth review will published, then removed SILENTLY. Simply because it is negative? Or it has been reported inappropriate?

Such thing could really ruin the reputation of TA in a long run. I doubt if I should really continue using it.

Pittsburgh...
Level Contributor
6,276 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Review published then removed? How genuine is TA?

Did you ask TA? I believe you do that through the Help Center, but I'm not on a real computer so I can't get the link for you.

Kuala Lumpur