We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Would love help choosing a destination- no kids

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Would love help choosing a destination- no kids

Hello! A friend and I are taking a mini trip, around 4 days, with a focus on relaxation. I've been to Hawaii but never the Caribbean. She has been to Mexico, so that's out. We're overwhelmed with the Caribbean options. Flying from Midwest- Chicago/Minneapolis/Madison/or Milwaukee - hoping for direct flight. Hawaii seems too far for such a short trip. Can you guide us?? This is my first time away from my kids, so definitely don't want to be surrounded by little kids--nor do we want something geared towards romance/couples. Looking for lots of beach time, but also excursions such as kayaking, snorkeling, etc. We will be going early November. THANKS IN ADVANCE! (side note:I'd love some rainforest options but afraid of snakes, so I'm not sure how to proceed on that front:)

6 replies to this topic
Pennsylvania
Destination Expert
for Playa Paraiso
Level Contributor
9,080 posts
71 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Would love help choosing a destination- no kids

Look into Puerto Rico. Great beaches, rain forest, history, good food.

Healy, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
44,004 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Would love help choosing a destination- no kids

I would stick to the Caribbean since you only have 4 days - save Hawaii for when you have 7-10 days. What's your budget for lodging - looking for resort or vacation rental? Do share a bit more. :)

Belvidere, Illinois
13 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Would love help choosing a destination- no kids