We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

August solo beach and writing holiday help

London, United...
5 posts
August solo beach and writing holiday help

I’m trying to plan a holiday for August and looking for some help.

Briefly, I’m hoping for the following

-In short, a sunny place where I can swim in the sea in the mornings, explore on foot in the afternoons and write in the evenings for the whole month of August.

-I don’t drive but I’d like to explore more than just one place, so easy bus rides/ boat rides to other places would be helpful

-Preferably a place where I can get by comfortably with English. Failing that, I’d feel more comfortable in a place where the main language is Portuguese, Spanish, Italian or French because I have some basic knowledge of these languages.

-I’ll be on my own so I want to feel safe walking around alone.

-A good beach with clean water within walking distance that isn’t too busy

-A town (or somewhere near to towns that I can take trips to) with historic architecture and or natural attractions (e.g. nature trails, caves, volcanoes)

-I don’t mind being in a place with other tourists (I know August is peak season) around but I’d rather it not be so overrun that it feels like England transplanted to a warmer climate

-I’m happy to short term rent a home or stay in an affordable hotel. I don’t want to pay more than £80 per night (preferably £50 max per night) on acomodation

-Wi-fi would be useful

-I’m thinking about staying in one place and using that as a base to travel to other locations (on day trips) but I’d also be happy to stay in multiple places if that’s more realistic (e.g. stay in a place where I can swim for one week, then move somewhere with historic sights, then move somewhere with natural sights)