We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpack v Case

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 posts
66 reviews
Save Topic
Backpack v Case

Hello Fellow Trip Advisers,

This is my first time on this forum, I am heading to Europe with my girlfriend later this year for 2 months and then heading to the USA for about 6 weeks. We are planning on travelling around Europe "backpacker" style, staying in Hostels etc, just wondering what the general consensus is on a backpack versus a case. The biggest issue I have noticed is the limited space in a backpack but it certainly seems more convenient. I would be happy to hear suggestions/other peoples experiences.

Thanks in advance,

James

Houston, Texas
Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
17,913 posts
191 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Backpack v Case

I've never traveled "backpacker" style, but I like wheels, rather than extra weight on my shoulders. So, that's my answer.

Sheffield
Level Contributor
5,125 posts
153 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Backpack v Case

If you are travelling around Europe by air - the most important things are dimensions and weight. The budget airlines - like Ryanair and Easyjet - are very strict.

London, United...
Level Contributor
83 posts
125 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Backpack v Case

I roll my empty backpack into my wheel case.

Then you can leave most of your items at your accommodation and just fill your backpack with the day's requirements.

Best of both worlds :D

Haarlem, The...
Level Contributor
1,775 posts
327 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Backpack v Case

I used to travel with a backpack but it's hard work and really only convenient when going up/down stairs.

Just getting it on your back is a hassle after a few weeks as you accumulate stuff.

Also hard to organize your clothes etc.