We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Last minute travel

New York City, New...
2 posts
Save Topic
Last minute travel

Hi!! This is my 1st time posting. I had vacation plans, my friend bailed on me at the last minute. I have the last week off in July, I would like to go somewhere by myself preferable Europe. I live in NYC. Are there any last minute walking tours I could do, this is my first time travelling solo. I welcome any ideas, I'm looking for English friendly place, I would go to London, but the olympics are probably going to make last minute accomodations difficult. Thank you!!

Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
947 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Last minute travel

Hi JenneR

Just before or during the Olympics hotels prices might be a little bit crazy in London !

There a some very pretty towns in the UK: Bath, Oxford, York, ...

And some interesting towns: Liverpool, Manchester.

Even more interesting: Scotland, with the beautiful Edinburgh and Glasgow.

I think it might be a good to combine Edinburgh and Glasgow (easy train connections).

Edited: 04 July 2012, 09:28
Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
947 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Last minute travel

ooops, one word is missing: good idea...

San Diego
Destination Expert
for San Diego
Level Contributor
63,869 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Last minute travel

Dublin is also a possibility with lots of flights from NYC!

Delta is having a 4th of July sale!

New York City, New...
2 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: Last minute travel

Thanks! However, I have already been to Ireland

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,397 posts
112 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Last minute travel