We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Very first time solo traveling, to Czech R.

Maastricht, The...
Level Contributor
14 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Very first time solo traveling, to Czech R.

Hello all,

After deciding that Bulgaria wouldn't be the best place to traveling solo the first time, I decided to go to the Czech Republic.

Since this is my first time traveling alone, I wonder what things I should take in account and what the most common annoyances are.

My initiary for about 8 days (when I will be picked up by my parents who are "in the neighborhood") is:

Prague, about 2 days

Plzen, about 2 days

Cesky Krumlov 1 day (+ Cesky Budejovice (for the original Budweiser))

The rest will be travelling by train.

Is it difficult to travel by train, and how do I need to approach it?

So my main questions are:

- Does anybody have some general tips when travelling solo in Czech Republic....

- Is my initiary good or optimistic?

- How is travelling by train going?

Thanks in advance.

I'm going in mid august (this year) by the way.

Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
945 posts
89 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Very first time solo traveling, to Czech R.

I have only visited Prague, I think you might stay 3 days in the capital city.

As for travel by train I can't say, but Czech Republic is safe as far as I know (the most common problem is theft in tourist areas).

kent
Destination Expert
for Kent, Solo Travel
Level Contributor
12,742 posts
133 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Very first time solo traveling, to Czech R.

Hello Thomas

Like Chris, I have only been to Prague, stayed 4 days, and I could have happily stayed a bit longer. Excellent food ( and beer!) , easy to get around, and lots to see and do.It's a very safe city for single travellers.