We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I'm having second thoughts about using hostels...

SW of England
Level Contributor
66 posts
Save Topic
I'm having second thoughts about using hostels...

I've never done hostelling before, but I've been youtubing a few places I considered staying, and there seems to be a lot of emphasis on parties and drinking, exactly the experiences I don't want when travelling.

Are hostels a good way to "connect" with people, or just have a knees up and be on your way?

Is this just a stereotype

e.g. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6duI-HNmw2Y

Thanks

Edited: 15 November 2012, 23:44
kent
Destination Expert
for Kent, Solo Travel
Level Contributor
13,989 posts
134 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: I'm having second thoughts about using hostels...

PT... hostels are used by a huge variety of people, and not just party animals!

If you have a destination in mind, but you're not sure if the hostel in that area is for you, then I'd suggest going to the destination forum here on trip adviser and either reading the reviews for that property, or posting a question in the forum itself.

Have a look at the hostel association website too, they are keen to attract families and travellers of all tastes and ages!

San Diego
Destination Expert
for San Diego
Level Contributor
65,691 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: I'm having second thoughts about using hostels...

I wouldn't judge the hostels of the world by a video on Youtube!

Even when you travel to a hotel you may find groups of people there who are partying and making noise!

I'd say hostels are definitely a place to meet other travelers. They are not just used by teenage backpackers but many folks of all ages who want a local inexpensive place to stay will use them.