We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suggestions for solo travel destinations - student holiday

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Topic
Suggestions for solo travel destinations - student holiday

Hello I'm a 23 years old student, and due to some 'logistic' issues i might be forced to travel alone for the first time.

I would to take a short trip during my holiday from college.

I'm looking to get some advice about a cool holiday destination in Europe for a solo trip between September & October, for duration of 7-10 days.

I'm looking for a place that has:

1. Some sightseeing to do

2.Night life

3.Friendly locals

4.Great food

5.Interesting activities

6. Possibly travel to country side

Of course the Country / City should be safe and the hotels and accommodations should be as clean as possible.

I have in mind Berlin & Munich but I'm leaning towards Ireland, Great Britain and Scotland (because of the lack of a language barrier), but obviously I'm open to suggestions.

I should mention I've been in Amsterdam with a buddy about two years ago and in Italy a few years back.

Thanks in advance.

Houston, Texas
Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
16,533 posts
192 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Suggestions for solo travel destinations - student holiday

Munich could be fun for you, especially since you might be there during Oktoberfest. I've been there a few times for work, and had no issues with the language. I've also been to Dublin and parts of Ireland. 2 different places. You might want to spend some time on the local forum boards and plan out what your trip might look like.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Suggestions for solo travel destinations - student holiday