We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solo female traveler-6 Months in South America

Houston, Texas
3 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Solo female traveler-6 Months in South America

Hi! this is my first time posting in one of these. This summer (around July 2014) I will be in between jobs with a good amount of money I've been saving up for that time. I'm thinking I want to spend 6 months traveling South America. Two years ago I stayed in Central Chile for 3 months and visited a few countries in the South but only for a very short amount of time. I originally went for an internship, but I want to go back and do it traveling style, and see all the things I never saw when I first went. However, I don't have any friends that would be able to tag along so I would be doing this solo. As a solo female traveler, do you think it could still be relatively safe? I think I'd like to start my trip in Costa Rica... Has anyone ever traveled South from Costa Rica? and if so, was the travel mostly by buses or did you take any flights to the next destinations? I read something about how Costa Rica requires you have a return ticket to have proof you will be leaving the country (no one-way tickets) so I would need to sort out the next destination very soon. Do you think a trip from Costa Rica to Patagonia (Chile/Argentina) would be doable in 6 months? I'm very open to destinations. I don't really have a huge desire to hit up the mega cities of Brazil though... I would love advice! Thanks!

England, United...
Destination Expert
for Somerset, Solo Travel, Exmoor National Park
Level Contributor
32,001 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Solo female traveler-6 Months in South America