We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

London to Dublin by train/ferry?

warrenton ,va
Level Contributor
21 posts
53 reviews
Save Topic
London to Dublin by train/ferry?

arrive Hethrow mid morning but looks like after the one train to Dublin. Should I wait a day in London and then take the train next day??Where does the train leave from in London?? Is this the most scenic option to Dublin???

Somerset
Destination Expert
for Somerset, Solo Travel, Exmoor National Park
Level Contributor
26,238 posts
106 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: London to Dublin by train/ferry?

Warren, just wondering why you are flying into Heathrow to get a train to Dublin and not going direct?

I'm no expert on the line or trains from London to wherever you need to go to get the ferry to Dublin. If you ask the same question (maybe with a please) on the London forum they will give you the right station.

Hopefull they will be able to tell you the route too and what it's like. Often they run through the countryside and you will be crossing a lot of the UK so a nice relaxed way to see it - if you don't doze off after a long flight.

For that reason I would suggest a layover of a day so you can really get into the holiday. You could have a walk along the Embankment to Parliment, Big Ben, go on the Milenium Wheel and some other things or take a HoHo ride.

There is food and snacks on the trains but they are pricey so might be worth buying a small picnic and just getting the coffee.

There are 'cheap' flights to Dublin but by the time you get to an airport, time for security etc you could probably be at the Western port by then with an interesting ferry ride ahead. Also the flights to Dublin with some companies like RyanAir charge for every little thing.

r c
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4,637 posts
1 review
Save Reply