We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buying Amtrak tickets with another persons credit card?

New York City, New...
9 posts
Buying Amtrak tickets with another persons credit card?

I need to buy a round trip ticket from NY Penn to Baltimore Penn, but I since I don't have my own credit card I would have to use my Mom's. Am I allowed to do this? Will I be need to show the credit card to an Amtrak employee before boarding the train? I'll be traveling alone, so I won't be able to present the card, or have my Mom vouch that it's her card. I've never used Amtrak before so I have no idea how this works.

If I can't use some one elses credit card, can I go to NY Penn a few weeks before the trip and pay in cash at the station for my tickets?

Albufeira, Portugal
Destination Expert
for Algarve, Faro
Level Contributor
47,596 posts
32 reviews
1. Re: Buying Amtrak tickets with another persons credit card?

Amtrak requires Photo ID for all travellers, that perhaps will be more of an issue to you.

Suggest you read

www.amtrak.com/servlet/ContentServer…

Quoting one part

"Passengers purchasing tickets from station ticket agents or on board trains from conductors must provide photo identification and be at least 15 years old."

I can find nothing about producing credit cards or using someone else's.

Chicago, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
15,642 posts
111 reviews
2. Re: Buying Amtrak tickets with another persons credit card?

Book online and print out your reservation with the UPC bar code o it. That way you will be able to check in at a kiosk at the station and the ticket will be prepaid. You will need a gov't (drivers licence) photo ID with a name matching the name on the ticket.

New York City, New...
9 posts
3. Re: Buying Amtrak tickets with another persons credit card?