We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Germany: BahnCard 25 - Student Discount

Boston...
Level Contributor
54 posts
Save Topic
Germany: BahnCard 25 - Student Discount

Hello!

I will be studying in Germany this fall. I would like to get the discounted student <27 BahnCard 25, but I'm having difficulty. First, the website won't let me get to the website to order without an address in Germany (though it will let me buy the full price one!). Second, I cannot find information regarding if you must show proof of being a student or of being a student in Germany. Does anyone know about this? I don't want to say I'm a student and not actually qualify! Finally, I saw some mentions online of retroactively getting the student discount – is this possible? If so, how does this work and what is the time limit for this?

It is starting to seem worth the difference in price to get the full price card rather than spend so much time on this! (Plus, immediate booking!)

Thanks in advance!

Germany
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
36,201 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Germany: BahnCard 25 - Student Discount

You can't buy a discounted BahnCard online. You'll have to show your student ID card when buying it.

You can however buy tickets with BahnCard discount beforehand. You only will need a BahnCard when travelling on such a ticket, not when buying it.

Boston...
Level Contributor
54 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Germany: BahnCard 25 - Student Discount

Oh, I didn't realize that, since it gives me the option to buy online and send them proof online or by mailing it to them and others said that's what they did.

Thanks for that information!