We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

gps from u.s. to italy

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
69 posts
Save Topic
gps from u.s. to italy

I am new to using gps device. I would like to buy one I can use in Europe, specifically in italy next week. How do they get charged? Do they come with a car charger or outlet charger. And in both instances, can you charge one from the u.s. in a car rented in italy?

Hampshire, United...
Destination Expert
for Eastleigh, Winchester
Level Contributor
4,908 posts
106 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: gps from u.s. to italy

All cars worldwide use the same 12V round 'cigarette lighter' socket as American cars so there is no problem taking a US gps to Europe or vice versa.

You will be able to buy and download maps for Italy or Western Europe from your gps systems web site .

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
69 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: gps from u.s. to italy

Thank you so much mymsman. I really appreciate it. I can now go out and buy one tomorrow. I assume that if I buy an international one with lifetime updates I'll be able to download the Sicily app (or whatever it's called) without additional cost.

Eva

Detroit, MI
Destination Expert
for Detroit, Travel Gadgets and Gear
Level Contributor
6,825 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: gps from u.s. to italy

Getting Europe maps on a US sold device is going to be expensive. It will probably cost $70 to $100 to add the European maps. How often do you plan on traveling to Europe? If not often, you are probably better off renting one from the rental car company.

Garmin has a couple models that have US, Canada and Europe pre loaded. The cheapest looks like the Nuvi 2475LT. Amazon has it for about $190. That does not include lifetime map updates, which will run another $100 or so if you want to buy them later.