We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mobile Hot Spot for Ireland?

Toronto
Level Contributor
1,423 posts
588 reviews
Save Topic
Mobile Hot Spot for Ireland?

Hertz offers a rental of the above with the car rental. We've never taken one of these in our past travels ... can you please help me understand why we should get one. I'm not very tech savvy, partly because I use my black berry device due to work even on vacation (which I don't pay for). Thanks.

Detroit, MI
Destination Expert
for Detroit, Travel Gadgets and Gear
Level Contributor
7,104 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Mobile Hot Spot for Ireland?

It basically gives you a mobile WIFI hot spot wherever you are by connecting your wifi devices (laptop, phone, tablet, etc.) to the cellular data network. International data roaming rates are usually crazy expensive, so by utilizing a device connected to a local provider you can save money. Of course the offerings from rental car companies for add on devices like this (or GPS) are rarely a good value.

If you can do everything you need to do with your BlackBerry, you really don't need one. It is a good idea to make sure that your company has enabled international roaming with it - and is OK with you using it internationally on vacation. Data roaming can be crazy expensive - like $10/megabyte. Uploading one picture to Facebook could cost $40.