We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip report - introduction

Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
661 posts
Save Topic
Trip report - introduction

Hey folks,

I'm finally back from my six-week road trip and thought it's about time I get started on the trip report. Obviously there's no way I'll be able to even come close to writing about all 42 days tonight, so I thought I'd get an intro/summary outt here to get started, and try to write a few days' worth of reports each night.

So let's get started. First, some background. I started planning this trip in May 2011. I am a journalist, and ever since doing a story back in 1999 about a young couple who rode their tandem bike across America I have wanted to do the same. Well, now that I am 43 and have numerous physical ailments, that wasn't a possibility, so the next best thing was to drive across America and see many of the great sights in our country that I have always wanted to see.

It also should be known that I quit my job to do this trip. Unhappy with both my job and the newspaper industry overall, I am looking for a change - hopefully to get into the craft beer industry, which I have been passionate about for 20 years. And so, visiting breweries was not only a fun part of the trip but also hopefully a good way to network and learn more about the business. Also, since I left the newspaper on very good terms, I continue to freelance for them and was able to generate some stories during the trip about Sierra Nevada (Chico, CA) and Oskar Blues (Longmont, CO), both of whom are building East Coast expansion

breweries here where I live.