We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

British Columbia/Alberta RV trip - 3 weeks

Brisbane
Level Contributor
206 posts
17 reviews
Save Topic
British Columbia/Alberta RV trip - 3 weeks

Hi all,

I have had such great help from this forum in the past, I thought I'd see how I went with a Vancouver-Rockies-Vancouver roadtrip question. I have been poring over the forums, and have worked out what I think would work for us - but would love any suggestions or advice.

The travellers are myself, hubby and two kids age 13 and 10. I am a mad keen amateur photographer and my family do put up with this (to a point) so I am hoping to maximise the scenery opportunities. The kids are happy pottering around along hiking trails (as long as it isn't too far) and we all love wildlife so will probably do any bear-watching/wildlife tours we can find too.

We are landing in Vancouver on 21st of June and will stay three nights there before heading over to Vancouver Island where I have booked a vacation rental in Ucleulet for 4 nights. On returning from there back to Vancouver we will stay another night, and have booked an early pickup (10am - 12pm departure)for the RV on the 29th of June. This is where I'm at with the itinerary from there:

29th - drive to Whistler via Sea-to-Sky Highway (I've heard this is a lovely scenic driving route)

30th - drive to Clearwater

1st July (Canada Day) - drive to Mt Robson, hopefully do a Blue River bear-watching safari on the way

2nd - visit Lake Kinney, drive to Jasper

3rd - Jasper

4th - Jasper

5th - Jasper to Banff (taking all day)

6th - Banff

7th - ?Yoho/Kicking Horse Pass somewhere, or maybe stay Lake Louise

8th - Revelstoke

9th - somewhere (?recommendations) in the Okanagan Valley