We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

From East Coast to San Francisco!

Budapest, Budapest...
Level Contributor
65 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
From East Coast to San Francisco!

Hello people!

My name is Andy and I am new here. Some help would be highly appreciated. I don't know if I am posting this in the right section, please excuse me if I am a beginner here.

Me and my mate would like to go from Europe for a USA road trip mainly on the Interstate 10. 4-5 weeks is the plan.

We are thinking from Florida to California by car or bus, anything, backpacker trip. We don't know if it is worth it to go through Alabama and Mississippi to New Orleans or should we directly start the trip to New Orleans (we wanna visit that one for sure).

Our basic plan includes:

New Orleans

Texas (hints are welcome regarding where to go)

New Mexico - White Sands

Arizona - Saguaro National Park, Phoenix, Flagstaff, Sedona, Navajo Nation, Monument Valley, Four Corners, some spot on the route 66 historic road, Grand Canyon

Nevada - Las Vegas

California - L.A. then on the Highway 1 by the coastline till San Francisco including a short visit at the Monterrey Aquarium.

We would like to get some ideas, hints from experienced travelers! Desert and Canyon scenery is the priority, as well as the cultural heritage, big cities are not among our main interest for now.

Questions:

Is it worth it or a waste of time to start at Florida or should we start in New Orleans?

How to plan the way wisely and what should we add in the plan?

Are 5 weeks enough? (We wanna spend more days in New Orleans, a week at least in Arizona and the last 5 days in San Francisco)

Kind regards

Andy

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6,399 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: From East Coast to San Francisco!