We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2-Day Drive from Los Angeles to Portland OR/Vancouver WA

Los Angeles...
11 posts
Save Topic
2-Day Drive from Los Angeles to Portland OR/Vancouver WA

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to trip advisor. I posted this question on the Los Angeles and Oregon forums, and it was suggested that I post on the Road Trips forum, as well, so here goes. . .

I'm helping a friend move from LA to Portland and we're leaving LA on June 5th (Wednesday) around noon or maybe even 1pm. We need to arrive in Portland on the morning of June 7th (by about 10am). We'll be driving with a pet so we can't leave the car for long periods of time except when we're checking into our pet-friendly hotel. I feel comfortable driving about 8-10 hours in a day, but am willing to drive more if it's required to meet our deadline. I would love to see as much of the coast as possible, but I am aware that it makes for a longer trip and we may not have that luxury.

Here's what I'd like to know:

Which route is recommended? Is there a way to incorporate some coastal driving into the trip while meeting our goal of arriving on the morning of June 7th?

Where is it best for us to stop overnight?

Is this doable? Or do we need to include all day Friday in our driving plans?

Any advice would be extremely helpful. Thank you!

Chula Vista...
Level Contributor
2,617 posts
103 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2-Day Drive from Los Angeles to Portland OR/Vancouver WA

Hi and welcome to the forum,

Given your short time constraints, it's going to be very difficult to do any sightseeing at all even taking the fast route of driving I-5 all the way:

http://goo.gl/maps/daPKr