We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Atlanta to Vancouver

Toronto, Canada
1 post
Save Topic
Driving from Atlanta to Vancouver

Me and a friend are planning a road trip from Atlanta to Vancouver. We are both from the Toronto area and are going to Tomorrow Land in September (driving down from Toronto) . From Atlanta we want to take a nice slow drive up to Vancouver to visit a friend living up there and then from Vancouver drive back to Toronto. I'm a photographer so sightseeing is a must. I'm really excited to stop in Yellowstone National park but that's as far as I've gotten with planning this trip.

We are planning on stopping at cheap hwy side hotels when we get tired so we aren't committed to anything. I'm very open to some routes and places to stop weather it's a great road through the mountains or an amazing diner.

Me and my friend are both early 20's and love the out doors, new experiences and just want to see the world.. possibly on the cheap. any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Park City, Utah
Destination Expert
for Utah, Winter Sports
Level Contributor
19,824 posts
428 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from Atlanta to Vancouver

Quickest route is up to St. Louis, Kansas City, Sioux Falls then across I-90. Mt. Rushmore and Devil's Tower right on the route. Easy drop down into Yellowstone. Suggest go in via Red Lodge, MT, over Beartooth, down into Lamar Valley. Easy access to Glacier in Montana then across to west coast - Mt Rainier and maybe drop down to Mt. St. Helens. If you have time, and this would take some days, you could drop down and do the Oregon Coast but that might be a bit much.