We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ideas for winter road trip in the US

Saint Louis...
4 posts
Save Topic
Ideas for winter road trip in the US

Hi everyone,

I'm a French grad student staying in the US for an exchange program and I'm trying to find interesting ideas for road trips this winter—I'll have about a month of vacation from approx. Dec 15 to Jan 15, so this is the right time for me to explore the country. Too bad it's going to be winter though... I have plenty of ideas but I'm not quite sure about some of them because I'm afraid they might not be worth visiting in the winter, and that's why I'm writing this post. Basically, I'll have opportunities to travel this winter but also in May-June so if some places that I'd like to go to are not worth it in the winter I could wait until the summer.

Let me explain a little bit so you know what I mean by "not worth it". I don't mind if the weather is not at its best, I went on a road trip in Dec of 2011 to Vegas and the National Parks of Nevada, Arizona, Utah and then California (Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Monument Valley, Arches, Yosemite etc...) and I thought it was absolutely fantastic. It was cold for sure but the parks were still accessible by car and I didn't feel the winter made the parks less enjoyable in any way, the snow actually made them look really beautiful. The only exception here might be Yosemite which had rather bare plants and trees at this time of year.