We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferry To Tasmania

Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
6 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Ferry To Tasmania

Can I hire a car in Melbourne and take it to Tasmania on the ferry does anyone know?

Lewes, United...
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
Level Contributor
22,191 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ferry To Tasmania

Hi titian

Welcome to the Road Trips forum.

I'm not an expert in this area, but I do know that most rental companies do not allow their cars on certain ferries, and others on any ferry. You'd need to check with the company you are considering renting with, by asking them directly or checking the Ts&Cs from their website, asking us on a forum without more details isn't really the best way to get the correct advice.

However, to find out which companies are known to allow their cars on ferries, you might ask on the Tasmania forum as the locals will have a better idea, I would expect,as it's likely to be a commonly asked question. Here's a link to the right forum:

tripadvisor.com/ShowForum-g255096-i887-Tasma…

SWT

Uden, The...
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
Level Contributor
60,942 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Ferry To Tasmania

That's right. We landed in Melbourne once and visited Tasmania for 2 weeks after that. It was an easy and short flight to Hobart and we picked up our car there. Not allowed to use the ferry between Melbourne and Tassie with a rental car. (We rented with Hertz). Why do you want to go by ferry? You also can rent cars from Launceston and even Devonport.

Tet

Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
6 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Ferry To Tasmania