We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What do families want?

Ithaca, NY
1 post
Save Topic
What do families want?

I'm a student at Cornell U and I'm researching for a project about redesigning our school's hotel. A large amount of the hotel's business comes from families of prospective and current students. I was wondering if anyone could help me and just list some of the things you look for when choosing hotel accomodations, specifically what amenities do you appreciate in the guest rooms? Your help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Apple Valley, CA
Level Contributor
647 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What do families want?

A suite designed room: bed area plus sitting area.

Seperate toilet and shower room from the sink area.

Small fridge and microwave.

Very comfortable beds.

Plenty of insulation in walls so units are quiet.

These are just a few of my thoughts!

PA
Level Contributor
857 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: What do families want?

Suites are definitely better than just a room!!

A nice bathroom. Wonderful, invigorating shower.

A small fridge.

Wireless internet available.

Featherbeds & down comforters.

A guide in the room explaining about area attractions, restaurants, etc.

Would you like me to come & be your guinea pig??!! I won't even charge you anything!

new york
Level Contributor
169 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: What do families want?

Hotels with connecting rooms (not just adjoining, but truly connecting) are a big draw for families.

Scotland
Destination Expert
for Scotland
Level Contributor
7,499 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: What do families want?

A bathtub. Have you ever tried washing small children in a shower?

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
303 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: What do families want?