We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains Bushwalk - solo?

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Blue Mountains Bushwalk - solo?

I'll be traveling to Sydney for the first time, and staying a few nights at the Blue Mountains next week. I would love to do some bush walking to take in the amazing sights. I'm moderately fit but an absolute beginner at bush walking, so it's probably not a good idea to attempt the trails alone.

Other than booking myself on a guided bush walking tour, would it be a good idea to visit one of the National Park Visitor Centres and perhaps "gate crash"/ trail behind other groups who come along, just so I'm not totally alone?

What would be ideal for a new, solo bush walker in the area? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Edited: 16 September 2012, 15:30
6 replies to this topic
australia
Destination Expert
for New South Wales, Noosa
Level Contributor
3,258 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Blue Mountains Bushwalk - solo?

To see the best of the sights, the well marked tracks, and various vantage points would suffice. No chance you will be alone.

To go INTO the bush following a group would at best be foolish. They might plan walking twice as far as you, and when you turn to go back out, you no longer have a guide. LOST is something we don't want you to become

Sydney/Melbourne
Level Contributor
17,924 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Blue Mountains Bushwalk - solo?

Have a look at www.wildwalks.com.au

Any of the easy walks from Echo Point or Leura will have lots of people on them