We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

EM sea grass question

portland, Or
Level Contributor
191 posts
83 reviews
Save Topic
EM sea grass question

Hello all! I am new to the cancun forum and think I will rephrase my question in another post hoping to get some replies.

I am not familiar with sea grass and am very concerned in what looks like black water at times in the beach at elm which I assume is seagrass. Just wondering how much of an issue this may be in late nov/early dec? I really love to swim in the ocean and the beach can really look unsuitable in some photos.

Thanks for any help!

Playa Mujeres Trips and Tours
Zipline & Aerial Adventure Parks, Scuba & Snorkeling
portland, Or
Level Contributor
191 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: EM sea grass question

Oops. That's supposed to say EPM.

Isle of Man, United...
Level Contributor
402 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: EM sea grass question

It all depends on the weather conditions at any time. Windy/rough sea then you will have a larger volume of sea grass. The resort clears it every day. sometimes constantly through the day. It has never been such a problem that has spoilt our enjoyment while using the ocean. It is more like a grass (hence the wording) than the smiley type of seaweed that we have on our UK beaches.

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,087 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: EM sea grass question

newlywed0816, we experienced dreadful conditions during our stay last winter. These are not my own photos but they resemble what we dealt with.

…tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/02/34/6f/07/s…

…tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/02/34/6f/08/l…

…tripadvisor.com/media/photo-w/05/09/e1/2f/b…

For this reason, and the fact that we were not impressed with most of the food on offer, we would not return. YMMV.

Chester, United...
Level Contributor