We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excellence Playa Mujeres vs Isla Mujeres

Level Contributor
7 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Excellence Playa Mujeres vs Isla Mujeres

Hi everyone,

I am in the process of planning my honeymoon, and hoping some of you more seasoned Playa Mujeres/Isla Mujeres visitors can give some advice. I was planning on staying about 10 nights in Mexico.

I have currently booked 7 nights non EC RTT at EPM and was planning on paying a visit to Isla while I was there. I have never done all inclusive before and am I little concerned I might get bored in the one resort for 7 nights as I do like to eat out and explore.

I am now considering changing the above to 5 nights and staying 5 nights at Privelige Aluxes Isla Mujeres in a Grand Platinum Suite (which is about $110 per night less) - as Isla Mujeres sounds quite appealing with the plentiful restaurants, bars etc.

Any advice would be great!

oakville, ON
Destination Expert
for Oakville
Level Contributor
5,228 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Excellence Playa Mujeres vs Isla Mujeres

We have been to both EPM and Isla, although not PA. ( we have seen a Platinum Suite and it is over the top gorgeous).

PA is not a resort like EPM, but you can often get an AI add on for ridiculously cheap ( as low as $15 pp per day). If you only have breakfast and a few drinks by the pool you will have broken even. Many many fantastic and cheap restaurants within walking distance and Playas Sol and Norte cannot be beat.

Isla in itself is laid back, but there are always places to find live music and lively conversation.

We are headed back to Isla for 2 weeks in September. Have decided to forgo EPM and AI this year.