We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hiking gear in the Alps

London, England...
3 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Hiking gear in the Alps

Hey Everyone,

To give some background info, I'm a fit college student who is relatively experienced in hiking/outdoors (Eagle Scout), but I've done most of my hiking in moderate/warm climates around Southwest US.

I am planning on hiking around the Bavarian Alps in early December and am going to be based in Mittenwald. I'm looking into day hikes around Zugspitze, Partnach Gorge, and Wank Mountain. The only experience I've had with cold weather hiking has been in the Colorado Rockies, but that was in late Spring. I just wanted to run past my gear with everyone and see if I need to consider packing heavier, warmer, or more weatherproof clothing.

Hiking Gear:

Wind-proof (water-resistant) gloves

Beanie

Scarf

Wool Socks

Cotton Socks

High-top hiking boots (http://tinyurl.com/l7z7h3r)

Long-sleeve thermal top (http://tinyurl.com/nuvp2mv)

Lightweight thermal vest (http://tinyurl.com/lotocnv)

Thin waterproof snowboarding jacket

Long-sleeve fleece pullover

Long-johns (http://tinyurl.com/ouyf9ps)

Blue Jeans

----------------

Looking over this list now, the only things I can see that are missing are waterproof trousers and snow-shoes? (If snow-shoes are necessary, would there be any stores around Munich that I could rent them at?)

Thanks!

14 replies to this topic
Dublin, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Austria
Level Contributor
16,030 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hiking gear in the Alps