We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving at night in DV

vancouver BC
Level Contributor
181 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
Driving at night in DV

Hi,

I'm planning an overnight stay at SPW (I hope) Dec 21-22. I fly into Vegas from Canada) and should be on the road by about 5-5.30 pm, proceeding directly to SPW with only a short grocery stop.

From what I gather most of the drive will be in darkness. Is that a problem? I'm an experienced driver, but not desert driving at night. I've read stories of deer or elk jumping up on the highway, giant porcipines, etc.

Any advice about desert driving at night in the winter will be appreciated.

Oh, and a big thanks to everyone who contributes here. I read the "suggested day trips" posts and they were a huge help to planning my time. Looking forward to my visit.

USA
Level Contributor
381 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving at night in DV

>I've read stories of deer or elk jumping up on the highway, giant porcipines, etc. <

The lores of the desert!

Have you heard about the gila monsters?

Also my dear husband and friends have been enjoying telling me the story of "The Hills Have Eyes". Yikes!

Just kidding.

Tucson, Arizona
Destination Expert
for Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
3,138 posts
610 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving at night in DV

Absolutely no problem. The roads are pretty straight except for the climb out of Vegas. You will not encounter any wild animals except for the potential DUI crazy.

ZB

Vancouver...
Level Contributor
7,750 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Driving at night in DV

Animals? Not so much. However, you will encounter about a gazillion stars if you take the time to stop and look up. You might also see strange things in the night sky.

San Francisco
Destination Expert