We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hello from Death Valley

San Francisco
Destination Expert
for Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Level Contributor
16,015 posts
50 reviews
Save Topic
Hello from Death Valley

This is FRR, and I am currently in Death Valley where I work as a park volunteer. I will have limited access to any high-tech communications, e.g. internet and cell phone. I will try to check periodically, but will have to depend on other DV enthusiasts here like Tet, Jes, JimG, and others to reply promptly.

When time allows, I'll tell you more about what's been going on here.

Enjoy the next few days wherever you are, and I will be here whenever I can.

Encinitas...
Destination Expert
for Zion National Park, Joshua Tree National Park
Level Contributor
18,644 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hello from Death Valley

Enjoy your volunteer time in the park. Any interesting assignments this year?

San Francisco
Destination Expert
Level Contributor
16,015 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hello from Death Valley

Mostly the same as the past couple of summers: explaining to visitors why Death Valley is so hot and dry, why we don't want them to go to the Racetrack or Big Pine Road in summer, how to get to Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, or Yosemite, and the fact that you cannot get into Sequoia-Kings Canyon from the east. You'd be surprised how many people have not learned that in their research and preparation, and are shocked to know that a park almost directly west of us would take 7 hours to get to.

I really think travel agents are responsible for a lot of the misunderstandings, but people need to be on top of their travel agents all the time.