We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denali Park Lodging

Which Denali National Park and Preserve hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 posts
15 reviews
Save Topic
Denali Park Lodging

Hi,

I need some help from the experts and experienced. I am planning to visit Alaska in middle of August 2013. I already booked the plane tickets and now will be doing the accommodations (not doing the RV since this is my first time w/ 3 kids). My questions are below:

1. Want to stay inside the Denali Park. What are my options. Please let me know the links and your opinion of inside and outside the Park options (pro/con) difference in experience vs. budget etc.

2. How many days are good (not a big time hiker or backpacking type). Just mainly sightseeing and photography.

My total time is 6 days. What are other options you suggest vs. budget vs. time frame (cruise vs. island hopping vs. railraod vs. driving around etc.).

Thanks in advance.

fti
MN
Destination Expert
for Alaska
Level Contributor
15,309 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Denali Park Lodging

Welcome to the forum. I assume you have done enough initial research to know that staying "inside the park" means staying 90 miles inside the park at lodges that cost +-$400/night or else tent camping, correct? If the lodges are in your budget, check availability with the lodges then post back here. If camping is more of interest, you can find availability at reservedenali.com

Edited: 15 July 2013, 12:23
USA
Level Contributor
9,465 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Denali Park Lodging

Welcome to TA!

Many prefer lodging in nearby Healy for Denali National Park, much more budget- friendly than at Kantishna & not as busy as entrance lodging:

http://www.a1cms.com/_dcc/accommodations/