We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Photo Views/Ops

Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
43 posts
Save Topic
Photo Views/Ops

Hello, is light in early morning/late afternoon the best at Glacier, also, for photographing scenery? Are there certain viewpoints to take great photos? I'm an amateur (obviously) and most of my hiking will be between 10 am and 3 pm...so from the GTTS road are there special places for good photos then? We are staying at Many Glacier 2 nites, Rising Sun 1 nite, East Glacier 2 nites, and also in Whitefish 2 nites. How about sunsets? Hoping Logan Pass will be open! We arrive June 22. Thank you in advance for your advice.

indiana
Destination Expert
for Glacier National Park
Level Contributor
2,966 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Photo Views/Ops

From Rising Sun, drive up to Wild Goose Island overlook in the early morning. I also like morning at Many Glacier, evening at Lake McDonald. Any of the trails will offer good photo opportunities, but depending on which trail and time of day, the light may not be the best, but you will still have good pictures and memories! Of course, I'm far from a professional myself, so there may be someone that can give you better advice.

Elkins, West...
Level Contributor
359 posts
73 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Photo Views/Ops

Hidden Lake overlook at sunset is awesome, and no one is around. But you'll want mosquito repellent.

flickr.com/photos/…

Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
43 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Photo Views/Ops

thank you for the photo advice, and again thanks for the hiking advice earlier!

Spokane, Washington
Destination Expert
for Glacier National Park, Spokane
Level Contributor
2,988 posts
103 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Photo Views/Ops