We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First timer at GCNP and wants in depth two days trip

Level Contributor
8 posts
67 reviews
First timer at GCNP and wants in depth two days trip

Hi,

I know that there has been discussions already on specific places to go for a two days trip below, however Im not so familiar with these places and this is my first time. Based from what I’ve read West Rim (specifically Skywalk) and South Rim are musts in visiting GCNP. Please advise How we can cover these two places (only mild hiking please) within two days. We will be coming from Las Vegas and Go back there after an overnight at GCNP area. Kindly advise also where is best place to stay overnight. And please advise also if it would be easy driving rented vehicles from Las Vegas considering that we haven’t driven outside our country ever😝

Need advise please. I really want to maximize our trip to Grand Canyon😊

Thank you

13 replies to this topic
Sedona, AZ
Destination Expert
for Sedona, Arizona, Monument Valley
Level Contributor
67,176 posts
250 reviews
1. Re: First timer at GCNP and wants in depth two days trip

Read the relevant Top Questions on the right hand side of this page.

The so called west rim is not a must do. In fact, given your limited time, skip it.

So Cal
Level Contributor
12,124 posts
75 reviews
2. Re: First timer at GCNP and wants in depth two days trip

I've been to Grand Canyon West; it's an interesting attraction, but I wouldn't call it a "must". Guess it depends on what you think makes something a "must". It's shorter, narrower and less colorful than the canyon upstream at the South Rim area. With just one night, you'll have to decide if it's worth the detour.

All the driving is easy. It'll all be on paved roads, mostly multi-lane freeway or fast highway.

Edited: 23 March 2018, 04:14