We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

just previewing what i need to see

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 posts
Save Topic
just previewing what i need to see

hi,

i am from boston and looking for a fun, cheap way to see, hike and enjoy the grand canyon. i will prob rent a car to make it easier...but am willing to use public transportation. i a, planning on coming in july as i am a teacher and that is vacation. i want to hike all over. i am going alone, so it needs to be safe too.

what are some must sees and what is the easiest way to get to everything.

Sedona, AZ
Destination Expert
for Sedona, Arizona, Monument Valley
Level Contributor
56,977 posts
227 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: just previewing what i need to see

http://www.nps.gov/grca/index.htm

For practical purposes there is no public transportation to the GCNP. using shuttles would be more costly and time consuming than simply renting a car.

Use the park website to learn your options for visiting and hiking in the park. Doing day hikes from the rim is easy to plan and relatively simple. Camping below the rim requires permits that are issued 4 months in advance on a lottery system. You would need to book right now for any remaining campsites on the rim. Park lodging also generally books as much as a year in advance.

I'm not trying to discourage you. Just letting you know that you will have a hard time finding accommodations for July at this late date. Do the research and try though, because people do book and then cancel. You might catch an opening.

I suggest that you plan a visit to the GCNP along with time in Sedona. Sedona is half way between PHX and the GCNP and a great compliment to the GCNP, especially for hiking.

www.visitsedona.com

tucson az
Destination Expert
for Tucson, Arizona, Northern Mexico
Level Contributor
15,922 posts