We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plans for 2 days at Grand Canyon South Rim

Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
Plans for 2 days at Grand Canyon South Rim

I am going to Grand Canyon during May long weekend. We are planning to stay in Grand Canyon Village(South Rim) for 2 days. I am an budding photographer too, need to know what are the view points/trails we can explore in 2 days in South Rim. Also need to know about photographic view points near south rim where i can photograph Grand Canyon. Also looking forward for best view point to take sunrise/sunset photos.

Sedona, AZ
Destination Expert
for Sedona, Arizona, Monument Valley
Level Contributor
55,057 posts
225 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Plans for 2 days at Grand Canyon South Rim

Read the Top Questions on the right hand side of this page and use the link to the park website. You'll have plenty of time to tour all of the named view points along the rim inside the park. Photo ops will be everywhere. A short hike down South Kaibab or Bright Angel trails will give you a taste of what it's like below the rim. You don't need to go far, and probably shouldn't.

For sunrise and sunset, I like to walk along the rim path between El Tovar and Yavapai Observation Point

tucson az
Destination Expert
for Tucson, Arizona, Northern Mexico
Level Contributor
15,372 posts
76 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Plans for 2 days at Grand Canyon South Rim

If you do not already have reservations, take care of that ASAP.

grandcanyonlodges.com

Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Plans for 2 days at Grand Canyon South Rim

Thanks!! Since we have 2 days is that worth a hike or go around the view points via shuttle? I am afraid if we go for a trail by hiking we might not have enuf time to cover all important view points.