We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 day road trip- Olympic Peninsula in 3rd week of April

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
5 day road trip- Olympic Peninsula in 3rd week of April

I am an amateur photographer traveling solo in a car rental. I plan to be out shooting and hiking most of the day. Is my itinerary feasible without being too rushed? Suggestions on accommodations (cheap-moderate motels or lodges) and food would be appreciated (I am a vegetarian lacto -ovo no fish). Any suggestions on sunrise and sunset location favourites? Also, should I drive back to Port Angeles to catch the ferry to Victoria or should I take it from Seattle? I think a rental car drop off in PA may be expensive as the pickup is n Seattle.

Day 1

Drive early morning from Seattle to Poulso (bakery) then stop in Port Townsend to walk around and grab lunch. Drive to Dungeness Bay and walk around. Visit Sequim if lavender in bloom. Sunset on Hurricane Ridge. Overnight in Port Angeles.

Day 2

Sunrise on Hurricane Ridge with some hiking. Post hike soak at Olympic HotSprings. Tide Pools at Tongue Point, Salt Creek Recreation Area (at low tide). Head to Sol Duc falls if time permits and then to Lake Crescent for sunset. Overnight Lake Crescent.

Day 3

Sunrise at Lake Crescent then breakfast . Drive along the 101 west to 113 north to 112 west between Clallam Bay and Sekiu. Stop along the coast and then continue west to Neah Bay and trek out to Cape Flattery for sunset. Overnight at Hobuck Beach Resort or Chito Beach or Bullman Beach Inn.

Day 4

Explore coastal beaches (Portage Head, Shi Shi beach, Point of Arches, Rialto Beach, Second Beach) and La Push. Sunset and sunrise on beach.

Overnight in Forks.

Day5

Hoh rainforest and Lake Quinault area and Graves Creek if time.