We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RMNP:Advice needed

England
3 posts
Save Topic
RMNP:Advice needed

Hi,

Sorry this may be a bit long winded. I am travelling to Denver on September 18th, this is my first time to both Denver and the US!

I was supposed to be travelling with a friend and we were going to travel from Denver to Yellowstone via Wyoming, Montana then back to spend some time in the Rocky Mountains just outside Denver. Unfortunatley with a week to go I have been let down but don't wish to cancel my holiday!!! What i will have to do is revise my plans as paying for 2 weeks accommodation by myself makes the trip very expensive.

What i am after is some advice and guidance for Camping (Tent) in RMNP possibly Moraine Park... then the quickest way to Yellowstone as i would still love to see this wonderful National Park, with some advice on camping in Yellowstone.

Any advice or guidance would be very useful and appreciated, I have been scouring the forums and have some information but some advice from locals would be appreciated about feasability of camping... how long would it take from Estes park to Yellowstone, best route and possible stop offs especially as i am now on a budget

Fort Collins...
Level Contributor
648 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: RMNP:Advice needed

As far as camping goes....Moraine Park is a good spot. It's close to the entrance of the park and you can reserve a spot on-line if you go to www.recreation.gov. I have found the most scenic spots to be on the outside of loop B, in the 200s. You might get lucky with a beautiful spot overlooking the valley. It is $20/night to camp and there are picnic tables and a fire pit at each site. They also sell wood at the site for fires.