We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2009 Fall color in RMNP and where to go to see???

ATLANTA
Level Contributor
844 posts
161 reviews
Save Topic
2009 Fall color in RMNP and where to go to see???

I'm an amateur photographer and we're planning to come in mid to late Sept and were wondering, based on rain and temperature a good guess for "good" fall color in 2009. Also I have been there once and would like to know where in RMNP or the surrounding area to go to see fall color? Well fly into Denver and travel I-70 and start in Grand Lake and then travel to Estes Park.

I am 67 and have a gimpy knee and can't walk more then 1/2 to 1 mile.

Thanks in advance.

Kent

Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10,844 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2009 Fall color in RMNP and where to go to see???

I live about 40 miles south of RMNP. I am looking out the window and can already see some yellow aspen. I am going out on a "limb" here (pun intended) and say that mid September into the third week could be very good timing for fall color.

Check this website for more info: www.colorado.com/Articles.aspx?aid=42023

And this one too: www.fs.fed.us/r2/recreation/fallcolors/

Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10,844 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 2009 Fall color in RMNP and where to go to see???

Sorry, missed the other part of your post.

Good spots to view fall foliage in RMNP: Hidden Valley, Fern & Cub Lake trails, the Kawuneeche Valley, Wild Basin and Bear Lake Road.

If you are arriving from the west side you can't miss Kawuneeche Valley. You will drive through miles of prime aspen country along Trail Ridge Road to just beyond the Timber Lake Trailhead.

Lots of info here:

…national-park.com/sights.htm#asp

I hope your timing is good and you get some great shots!

Fort Collins...
Level Contributor