We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zion & Bryce Next Week - What to see & do?

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
55 posts
Save Topic
Zion & Bryce Next Week - What to see & do?

My husband and I are taking a roadtrip next week and would love some advice. We leave Los Angeles Thursday around 4pm and will either stop for the night in Vegas or St. George. Then Friday morning head to Zion. We will spend the whole day exploring the park then Saturday take a day trip to Bryce and then head back to Zion that night. On Sunday we will spend the morning and early afternoon in Zion before heading to Vegas for the night.

Just a background we are in good shape and I am a photographer so I would love to hike to some great spots. I know our time is limited at both Bryce & Zion so any tips as far as what to see, where to go and where to eat would be appreciated!

Encinitas...
Destination Expert
for Zion National Park, Joshua Tree National Park
Level Contributor
17,327 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Zion & Bryce Next Week - What to see & do?

Another option is to stop in Mesquite. Then you can see the Virgin River Gorge on I-15 in the daylight.

Might want to stay over in Bryce to see the canyon at its best at sunrise. The dark night skies are great too. Lots of animals on the road at night if you choose to drive after dark. See the main amphitheater. If the trails are not too muddy/snowy try Navajo/Queens Garden trail.Red Canyon on the way to Bryce is nice to photograph.

The shuttle starts April 1, so you can drive your car up the canyon next week.

If open, the Narrows are a must. Angels Landing if not afraid of heights, or go as far as Scout Lookout if you do fear heights.

The little alcove of Menu Falls is something you can quickly see since you can stop near it.People riding the shuttle never see it.