We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2011 early June or early Aug??/

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert
for Santa Fe, Mesa Verde National Park, Boulder, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21,216 posts
53 reviews
Save Topic
2011 early June or early Aug??/

I'm a teacher and teach summer school, so our vacations are limited to early June or early Aug. Next summer will be my husband's choice of the Oregon Coast. 10 days fly in/out of Portland. Want to spend 4-5 days on a beach, on the coast in a cabin/cottage with room for 2 adults and 1 teen. Full kitchen too. Most important is the beachfront location...price not too expensive for a teacher!!!

Looking at Oceanside, Manzanita, Newport, Cannon Beach,... But mostly want less hectic beach town vs a busy tourist town,. Any other options? I've only just started researching.

We live in the desert so even if it rains that will be a fun vacation for us, lol!

Looking at Portland to Newport area, with a side trip to Mt St Helens, then west to Astoria. We plan 2 nights in Portland, 1 night in Astoria, 5 nights on the coast, 1 night in wine country (McMinnville area???) 1 night with family in Hood River, 1 night near Portland airport and then depart.

Oregon Coast
Destination Expert
for Crescent City, Oregon Coast, Oregon, Redwood National Park
Level Contributor
42,949 posts
1,048 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2011 early June or early Aug??/

Hi CA, welcome to Oregon ;-)

The difference between early June and early August is twofold. June has 1) fewer people, and, 2) the chance of rain is much greater. But it won't be cold at all, and you won't get endless days of pouring rain.