We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Should I cancel the vacation?

Toronto, Canada
2 posts
Save Topic
Should I cancel the vacation?

I have a plan to go Aruba on Nov.14 for 7 days.

This is my first time to Caribbean vacation but I concern the beach condition on November.

Someone said the beach water is smelly, dirty and lots flies and mosquitoes go around on September to November, is it really true?

Should I cancel the vacation? I don't want to ruin my first vacation in Caribbean :(

Minneapolis...
Destination Expert
for Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach
Level Contributor
14,893 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Should I cancel the vacation?

LOL! Sorry, but who told you such a thing?

We vacation in Aruba every Sept. for 2+ weeks (and have also made a couple of Nov. trips as well) and the water is crystal clear and there is no smell.

Only time you'll experience mosquitos/flies is if there is an unsual amount of rain which doesn't happen very often.

In my 22 trips to Aruba I've had to use bug spray twice.

Kansas
Destination Expert
for Mackinac Island, Mackinaw City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4,407 posts
229 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Should I cancel the vacation?

I was there last week and the beach was not smelly, dirty or fly covered. You shouldn't listen to anything else that person tells you.

Lords Valley...
Level Contributor
1,574 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: Should I cancel the vacation?

Now two "someones" have said this is not the case.

New York
Level Contributor
758 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: Should I cancel the vacation?

Make that three... Leaving in 7 days . We always go either October or November. No smelly, dirty, flies, or mosquitoes. However We do find sunshine, beautifull beaches, warm water, great food, good people, and a great time. Cancel????