We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Can you bring flying fish to the United states

Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
7 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Can you bring flying fish to the United states

My husband and I, will be traveling to Barbados in Dec 2011.

Has anyone brought flying fish back with them to the United States?Thanks for any ihfo.

Barbados
Destination Expert
for Barbados
Level Contributor
16,860 posts
324 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Can you bring flying fish to the United states

Shafiqah

Yes you can. This I've been doing since 1995 and did it as recently as October 2nd. I never declare what I have to US Customs though... I'm not one to bring suspicion onto myself. Make sure they are frozen and you can wrap them in foil and place them in either your checked or hand luggage. If you place them in your hand luggage, please ensure they remain frozen with zero liquids present until after the security checkpoint at BGI.

Regards

Atlantic Shores...
Level Contributor
2,125 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Can you bring flying fish to the United states

Just so you know --

"Failure to declare food products can result in up to $10,000 in fines and penalties."

http://tinyurl.com/6hvlb5b

Edited: 27 October 2011, 19:00
Barbados
Destination Expert
for Barbados
Level Contributor
16,860 posts
324 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Can you bring flying fish to the United states

Interesting... a US Customs Officer at MIA told me the fine is normally around $300 USD...depending on quantity... I just somehow always seem to get away scot free!

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
643 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Can you bring flying fish to the United states