We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

eating gluten free

Oakville, Canada
1 post
Save Topic
eating gluten free

Is it possible to eat gluten free at restaurants and hotels in barbados

Barbados
Destination Expert
for Barbados
Level Contributor
17,262 posts
353 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: eating gluten free

mary5355

For the large part, yes.

When I worked as a waiter I remember quite often having to liase between guests and the chef on what items persons who needed gluten free could order, so I would really recommend you do the same. The verdict was that there were several items they could order, but with and without certain sauces for example. Just ask to speak to the Chef wherever you dine to ensure the means you consume are safe. Restaurants will literally go out of their way, more often than not, to accommodate guests with requirements such as this.

I would also advise you to bring along stuff such as rice cakes, gluten free bread and biscuits with you. Although they are available in Barbados at our leading supermarket Super Centre, they are quite pricy here.

Hope this helps.

Regards

Edited: 13 April 2012, 01:57
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8,828 posts
73 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: eating gluten free

If you go to this link you'll find quite a few posts about gluten free foods. You can also put gluten free in the search box and you'll find additional information. tripadvisor.com/…37666168

Exmouth England
Level Contributor
699 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: eating gluten free