We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Havana to pinar del rio/vinales

united kingdom
Level Contributor
946 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Driving from Havana to pinar del rio/vinales

Hi .I want to drive from havana to above for overnight stay at either

I feel that i am a very confident Driver where i live in the uk.but i have never drove a car in ever in any other country.How easy or hard is it to drive in cuba .what are the rules on the road .thanks in advance...

Newton Aycliffe...
Destination Expert
for Cuba, Rafael Freyre, Guardalavaca, Holguin
Level Contributor
98,034 posts
61 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from Havana to pinar del rio/vinales

The last part of the drive from Pinar del Rio to Vinales is very twisty. The first thing you should remember is to keep your eye on the speed limit as there are numerous police just waiting by the roadside to catch speeding motorists. It's all guesswork on their part as they don't have radar guns or the like.

Don't drive after dark as cyclists do not need to display lights on their bikes and there can be quite a lot of pedestrians on the road. Petrol stations outside the cities are few and far between but most are open 24 hours. There is a filling station in Vinales at the end of the main street.

Also car rental in Cuba is not cheap. If you rent for 3 days or more you will have unlimited mileage, but for an economy car you can expect to pay at least 60 CUC per day. Petrol is 1.40 CUC per litre for especial.

One other tip, do not drive within 5 metres of the vehicle in front, it's an offence, and if caught by the police you will be fined, just as I was on one occasion.

united kingdom
Level Contributor
946 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving from Havana to pinar del rio/vinales