We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Will we like Curacao?

Which Curacao hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Peterborough, NH
Level Contributor
543 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Will we like Curacao?

My wife and I have been doing a Caribbean vacation every year now for four years and are narrowing in on the kind of islands we like to stay at. I am wondering if Curacao will fit us.

We prefer less commercialized islands that are safe to explore. We do like to hike and take walks (I already know there is plenty of geocaching to keep us entertained), will likely dive one day, and spend plenty of time just unwinding. Don't need big night scene but a few nice (local flavor) restaurants will do just fine.

We also hope to find a place on the beach. We stayed in Nevis last year and that was just our speed but we hope to try a different island every year.

If we are a good fit for Curacao, any suggestions on which part of the island we should consider and any particular small resorts to check out?

Thanks!

Saint James City...
Destination Expert
for San Pedro
Level Contributor
14,963 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Will we like Curacao?

We were in Curacao last month. Spent a few nights on Spanish Waters at Limestone Holiday. Loved the Limestone, small quiet, nicely landscaped.

We usually stay on islands with way less people. The amount of traffic in/around Willemstad was a bit of a surprise, not that the driving was difficult.

We also usually stay on islands where restaurants on walkable from where we stay. We did get tired of driving for food/drinks every day.

We also stayed in Westpunt for a couple of nights. Loved it. Although the restaurant choices are quite limited. Beautiful area.