We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visiting Dominican Republic

Dubai, United Arab...
1 post
Save Topic
Visiting Dominican Republic

Hi there..

I'm planning my trip to Dominican Republic in June 4 - June 12.

and I will arrive to Puerto Plata and leave from Punta Cana.

I would like some recommendations for:

1) what Cities I must visit?

2) how many days in each city?

3) I need some recommendations for areas/hotel to stay in

4) how safe is DR?

5) is it better to rent a card and drive?

to give you an idea about what I like... I like scuba diving... activities... like horseback riding

waterfall and volcanos... I would like to go on a wheal watch trip.

History is something I would like to see...

I'm a photgraoher and Chef... so food would be a great thing and nice sights to capture.

also, I a latin dancer... and I love to explore different culture from cuisine to dancing and history.

night life not the most important but i prefer to see cultural carneivla and tradithinal shows.

hope the above helps.

nyc
Level Contributor
2,368 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Visiting Dominican Republic

For 8 days, there may not be enough time to do it all.

The two locations are so far apart.

Well, let me try to give you distances from each area.

Puerto plata is in the north. This is the oldest resort area. The towns cabarete, sosua and puerto plata is half hour away from each other.

3-4 hrs drive east is samana.

The capitol santo domingo is under 3hrs south from here.

Punta cana is 2.5 miles east from here.

For a tour of the DR, for photography and food,