We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How are the tourists in regard to big women?Going to BARCELO

Montréal, Qc
Level Contributor
13 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
How are the tourists in regard to big women?Going to BARCELO

Hi fellow Trip advisor friends...I'm wondering...I'm going to the Barcelo Premium in 2 days and I'm pretty scared.

How are the staff and tourists to the Bigger tourists.I know it might seem like an anckward question, but you know sometimes we need bigger chairs, bigger towels, bigger everything... :-)

Are they nice to accomodate people with certain needs and a certain weight. How are the chairs next to the beach, the pool, are they strong?

Cuse I'm not only tall I'm a big girl as well, I know people will be staring for sure..(I'm 6'2) But it scares me a lot.

Since it's my first time in a resort I feel like I don't want to be judge by my size and I wanted to inquier about it.

Please answer...

Barcelo Feb 16-Feb 24

Madero Tours
Sightseeing Tours
Runners Adventures Puerto Plata
Sightseeing Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours
Isaira Tours
Sightseeing Tours, Taxis & Shuttles, 4WD, ATV & Off-Road Tours, City Tours
Extra Tours
Sightseeing Tours
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
342 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
21. Re: How are the tourists in regard to big women?Going to BARCELO

To thehaitianqueen,

As you have noticed you are not alone in your fears and feelings of not being 'perfect'....we all have something to worry about ourselves...not pretty enough--for who?? Not skinny enough--for who?? Sure I would love to lose 50 lbs...but that won't make me a better person because I think I am a really nice person already. Your personality should not be measured by the way you look!!! I have been to the Barcelo twice and did not feel I was treated any different than my 'skinny' friends.