We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High season or Low (off) season

Which Punta Cana hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
633 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
High season or Low (off) season

Hi, just wondering , when do you prefer to travel and why ?

Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
3,335 posts
298 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: High season or Low (off) season

I would definitely prefer to travel in low season, but since I am a teacher the decision is out of my control. But...retirement is on its way, and I will then be able to vacation whenever I like! That being said, high season allows us to meet other teachers who are also on vacation!

N.H.
Level Contributor
15,323 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: High season or Low (off) season

September thru April

Victoria, B.C...
Level Contributor
500 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: High season or Low (off) season

So, for the Domincan Republic, particularly Punta Cana (since travelers are from all over) - what is "high season" and what is "low/off season)?

Always wondered that.

Edited: 09 November 2010, 22:22
Punta Cana...
Level Contributor
24,104 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: High season or Low (off) season

Punta Cana run's Peak Travel Season Occupationwise from 1 week before x-mas Eve til 1 week after easter weekend.

the Time from after Easter til summer is by far not any Low Season,just most Resorts do not run full capacity that Time, but careful, some resorts are fully booked even til Summer.

real low Season for Punta Cana are the Months September and October, here occupancy at the Resorts is very Low, usually resorts run also Renovations during that Time Period, some restaurants/amenities may be closed temporarily.