We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help...Newbie

Which Punta Cana hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
54 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Help...Newbie

I think I have read every single post here and I'm more confused than I was before. This is my first time to PC and I need help with picking a resort and I am so overwhelmed. I am relying on everyone experience and expertise here and I thank you so much. We are looking for a nice resort with a nice sandy beach, nice rooms with an ocean-view option. I'd like it adult's only, but kids are fine as long as it's not geared towards families (we are trying to get away from our own kids!). Food should be good, but we are by no means foodies. Just good food and lots of options. Activities are a plus with bars and clubs. I don't mind some of the larger resorts, but I just don't want one that is so loud with a ton of people and feel like I'm always at a party. On the other hand, I don't want a resort with a bunch of fuddie duddies either and it's so quiet and boring.

I understand that you "get what you pay for", but our budget is $3000-$3500, which seems to be the moderate to higher end. I would love to go to the Iber Grand, but it's out of our price range. I'd like something just below that. Any suggestions? I was leaning towards Majestic Elegance or Dream Palm Beach, but again, I really need guidance. I do not want to stay in the Excellence because of the rough beach I've been reading.

Thanks so much for your time and info. :)

Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
1,278 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help...Newbie