We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thinking of going to Jamaica - first time help please

melbourne
Level Contributor
1,108 posts
42 reviews
Save Topic
Thinking of going to Jamaica - first time help please

Hi everyone, this is my first time on the forum. We are a family from Australia and will be flying to the USA in December.

We are thinking of having a 5 night stay in Jamaica after NYC. I would love some advice.

We will be in NYC in December, not sure of the dates but we are looking at Negril from 8th of December for 5 nights or December 22nd for 5 nights.

My children are 18 and 22, and I would love to know if Negril is the best place to go. We love resting, the beach and swimming. Any suggestions where to go for first timers and where to stay would be great

Thanks in advance.

Mentioned in this post
Negril
Negril
Jamaica
mississippi
Level Contributor
1,226 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Thinking of going to Jamaica - first time help please

Negril is the best place to stay, in my opinion. There are all kinds of places, from budget to luxury, so it would be hard to recommend a place without knowing a little more.

Mentioned in this post
Negril
Negril
Jamaica
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10,742 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Thinking of going to Jamaica - first time help please

do understand that the price will likely near triple between the two dates you have selected... December 8 is low season, December 22nd is the peak of the busy season (christmas)... also, if you are set on traveling over christmas, i suggest booking sooner rather than later to have your choice of accomodations...

Enjoy

Chelle

Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
197 posts
1 review
Save Reply
3. Re: Thinking of going to Jamaica - first time help please