We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?

Buenos Aires...
Level Contributor
10 posts
1 review
Save Topic
which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?

Its my first time in jamaica and i want to know which money is better to move on the Jamaican streets? American Dolar o Jamaican Dolar?

sorry for my english..is not good

Central Ohio
Destination Expert
for Negril, Port Antonio
Level Contributor
12,917 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?

Jamaican. Only use US if you are FROM the US and bring it for convenience and you will be staying at an all-inclusive resort.

Jamaican $ are accepted everywhere.

Edited: 23 January 2013, 20:52
Buenos Aires...
Level Contributor
10 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?

thanks ohliz, im a low budget traveller... im travelling with US dollars but i wanna change it for jamaican $... where i could do that? in kingston airport?

United States
Level Contributor
11,378 posts
115 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?

Can you change money at the airport? Yes. Should you change money at the airport? Probably no. See the following on where to change money

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g147309-s601/Jamaica:…

United States
Destination Expert
for Ocho Rios
Level Contributor
4,124 posts
102 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: which is better to use US Dollars or Jamaican Money?